Attention MTA Customers: Due to the increase in theft of hand held devices, we ask that you review our Anti-Theft brochure to help you learn ways to keep you and your devices safe!

The MTA Police Force is committed to helping everyone feel safe and at ease when they ride public transportation. It is a mission that the Maryland Transit Administration Police Force takes on every day of the year, with dignity and respect for all. Statistics confirm the depth of that commitment. Incidents of crime are consistently lower in and around MTA stops, stations and local communities where MTA Police are on patrol.

For more information on the tryouts, please click the button below.

Walk-in Testing

MTA Police Force Policies and Procedures

In addition to protecting our riders and vehicle operators, MTA Police are responsible for enforcing the law and assuring the security of MTA property and revenue.

Apply Today! 

The approximately 183 sworn officers and 83 civilian employees who comprise the MTA Police Force are dedicated to providing the highest standards of law enforcement to the citizens of Maryland. Our multi-jurisdictional approach throughout Baltimore and surrounding counties is based on longstanding partnerships with allied local, state and federal law enforcement agencies.

The MTA Police Force is both multi-dimensional and flexible in its approach to providing security to all members of the transit community. Our strategic programs are designed to offer the utmost in protection in the most efficient manner possible. These approaches include:

  • Uniform Patrol and Plainclothes Units
  • Detective Unit
  • Visible Intermodal Prevention and Response (VIPR) Teams/Tactical Unit
  • Video Surveillance Teams
  • Bicycle Patrol Unit
  • Motorcycle Patrol Unit
  • K-9 Police Officer Unit
  • Homeland Security Drills
  • Weekly Zone Enforced Unified Sweeps

The MTA Police Force rigorously utilizes the MTA Comp Stat process to follow up, identify trends, deploy resources rapidly and maximize accountability.

We rely on citizens as partners in our efforts, and have established the “See Something, Say Something” citizen transit awareness program for citizens to report suspicious or criminal activity.

  • MTA Police Emergency
    410-454-7720 or 410-454-7721

  • Chief of Police
    Colonel Jerome E. Howard Jr

  • Deputy Chief of Police
    Lieutenant Colonel Robert Stanley

  • Executive Officer to the Chief of Police
    Lieutenant Demetria Spriggs

  • Executive Assistant
    Angela Brooks

  • Executive Officer to the Deputy Chief of Police

  • Professional Standards and Accountability Bureau Commander
    Major Shawn Wallace

  • Professional Standards Unit Commander
    Lieutenant Crystal Briley

  • Background Investigations Unit Commander
    Lieutenant Generia Lawson

  • Body Worn Camera Unit Commander
    Lieutenant Ryan Naglieri

  • Operations Bureau Commander
    Major Gordon Schluderberg

  • Northern District Commander
    Captain Alfred Young

  • Shift Commander
    Lieutenant Craig Piaskowski

  • Shift Commander
    Lieutenant Nicole Swann

  • Shift Commander
    Lieutenant Steve Jackson

  • Southern District Commander
    Captain Aaron Myers

  • Shift Commander
    Lieutenant Leroy A. Patterson, Jr.

  • Shift Commander
    Lieutenant Latoya Russell

  • Special Operation Division Commander
    Captain Kennth Combs

  • Tactical Operations Commander (TOC)
    Lieutenant Ronald Johnson

  • Support Services Bureau Commander
    Major E. Lee Fenner

  • Administrative Division Commander
    Captain Bryan White

  • Administrative Unit Commander
    Lieutenant Angela Stewart

  • Training and Planning Unit Commander
    Lieutenant Christopher Vailati

  • Technical Services Division Commander
    Captain Anjanette McBride
    410-454-1694 Office

  • Police Monitoring Facility Supervisor
    Ms. Precious Evans
    410-454-1682 Office

  • Communications Supervisor
    Cherie Martin

  • Director, Civilian Uniform Personnel Services
    Mr. Vernil McDavid

  • Deputy DirectorCivilian Uniform Personnel Services
    Mr. Robert Womack